COVID-19 Notice View Here

ABOUT US

WHO WE ARE

In 2005 a group of disability and elder law attorneys from across Maryland joined to create a non-profit organization to benefit Marylanders with disabilities. The group knew that public benefit programs alone can never meet all the needs of an individual with disabilities; for this reason, the attorneys believed that preservation of assets in a special needs trust is preferable to spending down income and assets to meet program limits. The goal was to preserve and protect these individual’s eligibility for public benefits and improve their quality of life.

In 2005 there was no statewide pooled asset trust operating in Maryland able to accept assets directly from individuals with disabilities. The attorneys knew that this type of trust could be valuable in allowing individuals with disabilities to protect assets yet still qualify for public benefit programs. The concept of pooling assets from many individuals to get better management and more efficient trustee services was a win-win proposition. Together, these attorneys became the founding board members of the First Maryland Disability Trust, Inc.

Today the board has expanded to include representatives of disabilities organizations and family members of individuals with disabilities from across the state of Maryland.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS:   2021

President:             Sharon Ritter-Beall, Esq.

Secretary:             Mallory Finn

Vice President:    Kenneth Hoefer

Treasurer:             Michael I. Levine, Esq.

Past-President:             Michael I. Levine, Esq.

Directors:

FMDT Staff

Executive Director:
Denise W. Fike
dfike@firstmdtrust.org

Trust Administrator:
Stephanie P. Reece
sreece@firstmdtrust.org

Trust Administrator:
Nicole Martinez
nicole@firstmdtrust.org

Trust Administrator:
JaNell Miller
janellmiller@firstmdtrust.org

Trust Assistant:
Megan Rose
megan@firstmdtrust.org

Trust Assistant:
Yasmine Stokes
ystokes@firstmdtrust.org

Administrative Assistant:
Lee Ann Shope
lshope@firstmdtrust.org

CPA:
Mary Hamme
mhamme@firstmdtrust.org

Denise W. Fike

Executive Director

1400 Front Avenue, Suite 303

Lutherville, MD 21093